Washington State Department of
Labor & Industries

Employment Standards / Workplace Rights
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Washington State Department of
Labor & Industries

Employment Standards / Workplace Rights

If family members work for you,
know your obligations

If you have relatives, including children, who work for you, they must be treated as
employees with the same rights as any other paid worker in the state of Washington.
This applies to anyone you expect to show up for work at a certain time.

As an employer of family members, you are required to:

= Pay them at least minimum wage. The minimum wage in 2011 is $8.67.
Workers age 14 or 15 may be paid 85 percent of the minimum wage, which is
$7.37 per hour.

=  Provide workers’ compensation insurance. Workers’ compensation insurance
pays benefits to injured workers and also protects employers from potentially
enormous claim costs and liability from work-related injuries and ilinesses.

= Provide a paid 10-minute break for every four hours of work.

= Provide an unpaid 30-minute meal break for every five hours of work.
= Make sure they work safely.

= Follow the state’s child labor laws.

=  Ensure that the work they do is appropriate to their age.
Need help or assistance?

Information is available at www.LNIl.wa.gov. For What el hould k .
additional help, call your local Department of Labor

and Industries office or one of these numbers: = These requirements do not

= For questions on wages, breaks, or child labor include family members who
laws: www.LNI.wa.gov/WorkplaceRights share ownership of a
1-800-219-7321 business, or children under

the age of 18 who work on a

m  For questions about workers’ compensation ,
g P farm owned by their parents.

insurance: www.LNI.wa.gov/Claimslins
1-360-902-4817

= The minimum age for
®  For questions about workplace safety and employment is 14 years.

health requirements: www.LNI|.wa.gov/Safety
1-800-423-7233

Spanish and English are spoken at all these numbers.
For those who speak Chinese, Korean, Russian, Thai,
Vietnamese, or other languages, interpretative services
are available.
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