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Farm Labor Contractor Registration

To work as a farm labor contractor in Washington State, you must first get a Farm Labor Contractor License.
This fact sheet explains how to get started and what you need to know to operate legally.

What is a farm labor contractor?

A farm labor contractor (FLC) is defined as any
person, agency or subcontractor who, for a fee,
recruits, solicits, employs, supplies, transports,
or hires agricultural workers to perform any FLC
activity. FLC activity includes:

m Growing, producing, or harvesting farm or
nursery products.

m Reforestation of lands, including planting,
transplanting, and thinning trees.

m Harvesting Christmas trees.

Washington State registers FLCs to ensure workers
are paid. FLCs are insured and bonded by companies
who understand the requirements for paying workers
fairly. You must get and keep a current FLC license
issued by Department of Labor & Industries (L&I) in
order to perform any FLC activity.

What is required to hecome a farm

labor contractor?

In order to become an FLC, you must first get the
following license, certificates, a bond and vehicle
insurance:

® Washington State Business License
Before you apply for an FLC license, you must
get a Business License from the Washington State
Business Licensing Service (BLS). BLS will issue a
Uniform Business Identifier (UBI) number for your
business. Apply online at www.Business.wa.gov/
BLS or call 800-451-7985 to get an application.

® Washington State Farm Labor Contractor License
You must apply to the Department of Labor &
Industries (L&I) for an FLC license. To apply,
complete form F700-014-000, available at
www.Lni.wa.gov/FormPub. (Type F700-014-000
into the Search box.)

Your FLC license must be renewed each year, and
you must carry it with you at all times and show it to
all workers and employers with whom you contract.

Registration Fee

Annual license fees are due at the time of
application or renewal. Please make checks
payable to Department of Labor & Industries.
The annual fees are:

® Farm Labor Contractor ........ $35
m Forestation/Reforestation ...... $100

Tax Compliance Certifications
Before you send in your FLC application, you
must complete Tax Compliance Certification
forms to show that your business is current with
federal and state taxes:
® IRS Tax Compliance Certification Form
F700-098-000.
m IRS form 8821, which must be completed,
signed and sent with the form above.
® Washington Department of Revenue form
F700-100-000.
® Washington Department of Employment
Security form F700-099-000.

These forms are available on the L&I website at
www.Lni.wa.gov/FormPub.

You must submit all of the above completed tax
compliance certification forms, even if you do
not plan to hire employees right now.



B Surety Bond (or other proof of financial security)

To ensure that workers” wages are paid, state law
requires FLCs to have one of the following;:
B Surety Bond: A bond obtained from any local
insurance provider. Use form F700-066-000.
B Assignment of Account or Time Deposit.
Use form F700-060-000.
B Cash deposit: The required amount is
deposited with L&I.

These forms are available on the L&I website at
www.Lni.wa.gov/FormPub.

The amount of the surety bond or deposit depends
on the number of employees you wish to hire:

Number of Annual amount of
Employees required security
1-10 $5,000
11-50 $10,000
51-100 $15,000
More than 100 $20,000

Vehicle insurance

If you will be transporting workers, you must
provide a Certificate of Insurance to L&I along
with your application. Each vehicle used to
transport workers must have the following
minimum coverage:

® $50,000 property damage per accident.

® $100,000 injury or damage, including death,
to any one person.

® $500,000 injury or damage, including death,
to more than one person.

Payroll Records

You must keep accurate records and provide them
to L&I upon request. All workers must be paid

at least the state minimum wage. Every payday,
you must provide your workers with a written
pay statement that itemizes the total payment and
includes a description of each deduction made,
the hours worked, rate(s) of pay and pieces, if
paid on a piece-rate basis.

® Worker information
At time of hiring, you must give each worker
a copy of a signed Agreement — Farm Labor
Contractor and Workers form (F700-046-000). This
form, which must be signed by the FLC and the
worker, must explain the terms and conditions of
employment in English and any other language
common to the worker. You must also give the
worker a copy of Contracted Farm Workers Rights
information sheet. L&I will mail these forms to you
with your approved license.

Are there penalties?

Yes. An FLC license may be revoked, denied or
suspended for failure to comply with the law. A
violation of the Farm Labor Contractor Actis a
misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum fine of
$5,000 or six months imprisonment, or both.

Need more information?

Call or visit the nearest L&l office or the Farm Labor
Contractor Supervisor at 360-902-4537 or email to
ESGENERAL@Lni.wa.gov.

Other formats for persons with disabilities are available
on request. Call 1-800-547-8367. TDD users, call
360-902-5797. L&1 is an equal opportunity employer.

Other formats for persons with disabilities are available
on request. Call 1-800-547-8367. TDD users, call
360-902-5797. L& is an equal opportunity employer.

PUBLICATION F700-088-000 [02-2012]
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Registro para un contratista de

trabajadores agricolas

Para trabajar como un contratista de trabajadores agricolas en el estado de Washington, usted tiene que obtener primero una
Licencia de contratista agricola. Esta hoja de informacion explica como comenzar y lo que necesita saber para operar legalmente.

iQuién es un contratista de

trabajadores agricolas?

Un contratista de trabajadores agricolas (FLC, por

su sigla en inglés) es una persona, agencia o
subcontratista que recluta, solicita, emplea, suministra,
transporta o contrata trabajadores agricolas por un
honorario para desempenar cualquier actividad como
contratista agricola. Las actividades como contratistas
agricolas incluyen:

m Cultivar, producir o cosechar productos agricolas
o de viveros.

m Reforestacion de tierras , incluyendo plantar,
transplantar y entresacar drboles.

m Cosechar arboles de Navidad.

El estado de Washington registra a los contratistas de
trabajadores agricolas para asegurar que se les pague
a los trabajadores. Los contratistas de trabajadores
agricolas estan asegurados y tienen fianzas de
companias que entienden los requisitos para pagarles
a los trabajadores justamente. Usted tiene que obtener
y mantener una licencia vigente de contratistas de
trabajadores agricolas emitida por el Departamento de
Labor e Industrias (L&I) para poder hacer cualquier
actividad como contratista de trabajadores agricolas.

i Qué se requiere para ser un contratista
de trabajadores agricolas?

Para ser un contratista de trabajadores agricolas,
usted tiene que obtener primero los siguientes
documentos para licencia, certificados, fianza y seguro
para su vehiculo:

m Licencia de Negocios del estado de Washington
Antes de solicitar una Licencia de Contratista de
Trabajadores Agricolas, usted debe obtener una
Licencia de Negocios del Servicio de Licencias

del estado de Washington (BLS, por su sigla en
inglés). BLS emitird un Ndmero de Identificacion
del Negocio (UBI, por su sigla en inglés) para

su negocio. Solicite en linea en, www.Business.
wa.gov/BLS o llame al 800-451-7985 para obtener
una solicitud.

Licencia de Contratista de Trabajadores
Agricolas del estado de Washington

Usted debe solicitar al Departamento de Labor e
Industrias (L&I) una Licencia de Contratista de
Trabajadores Agricolas. Para solicitarla, complete
el formulario F700-014-000 (en inglés solamente),
disponible en www.Lni.wa.gov/FormPub.
(Escriba F700-014-000 en la casilla de busqueda).

Su Licencia para Contratista de Trabajadores
Agricolas tiene que renovarse cada afo y debe
tenerla con usted en todo momento y mostrarsela
a todos los trabajadores y empleadores con los que
haga un contrato.

Costo del registro

El costo para la licencia anual debe pagarse al
momento de presentar la solicitud o la renovacién.
Por favor haga sus cheques a nombre del
Departamento de Labor e Industrias.

Los costos anuales son:

® Contratista de trabajadores agricolas . . . $35
® Forestacion/reforestacion . . .......... $100

Certificaciones de cumplimiento de impuesto
Antes de enviar su solicitud para la Licencia de
Contratista de Trabajadores Agricolas, usted debe
completar los formularios de Certificacién de
cumplimiento de impuestos para demostrar que
su negocio estd al dia con los impuestos federales
y estatales:

B Formulario de certificacion de cumplimiento

de impuesto del Departamento de Servicio

de Impuestos Internos (IRS, por su sigla en
inglés) F700-098-000.


www.Business.wa.gov/BLS
www.Business.wa.gov/BLS

B Formulario 8821 del Departamento de
Servicio de Impuestos Internos, el cual tiene
que completarse, firmarse y enviarse con el
formulario indicado arriba.

® Formulario F700-100-000 del Departamento
de Recaudacién de Impuestos de
Washington.

® Formulario F700-099-000 del Departamento
para la Seguridad del Empleo de Washington.

Estos formularios estan disponibles en el sitio
de Internet de L&I, www.Lni.wa.gov/Spanish/
FormPub.

Usted tiene que someter todos los formularios
de certificacion de cumplimiento de impuestos
aunque usted no tenga planeado contratar
empleados en este momento.

® Fianza de garantia (u otra prueba de seguridad
econémica) Para asegurar que los salarios de
los trabajadores sean pagados, la ley del estado
requiere que los Contratistas de Trabajadores
Agricolas tengan uno de lo siguiente:

® Fianza de garantia: Una fianza obtenida
de cualquier proveedor de seguro de la
localidad. Use el formulario F700-066-000 (en
inglés solamente).

B Depésito en una cuenta bancaria asignada o
un Depésito a plazo. Use el formulario
F700-060-000.

B Dep6sito en efectivo: La cantidad requerida
se deposita con L&I.

Estos formularios estan disponibles en el sitio web
de L&I en, www.Lni.wa.gov/Spanish/FormPub.

La cantidad de la fianza de garantia o del depésito
depende del niimero de empleados que usted
desea contratar:

Nimero de Cantidad anual de
empleados garantia requerida
1-10 $5,000
11-50 $10,000
51-100 $15,000
Mas de 100 $20,000

m Seguro del vehiculo
Si usted transportard a trabajadores, usted tiene
que proporcionarle un Certificado de seguro a L&I
junto con su solicitud. Cada vehiculo usado para

transportar trabajadores debe tener la cobertura
minima siguiente:
® $50,000 en dafo a la propiedad por accidente.
B $100,000 lesién o dafo, incluyendo la muerte,
a cualquier persona.

® $500,000 lesién o dafio, incluyendo la muerte,
a mas de una persona.

B Registros de némina
Usted tiene que mantener registros exactos y
proporcionarlos a L&I al solicitarlo. A todos los
trabajadores se les tiene que pagar por lo menos el
salario minimo del estado. Cada dia de pago usted
tiene que proporcionarle a sus trabajadores un
comprobante de pago que detalla el pago total e
incluye una descripciéon de cada deduccion hecha,
las horas trabajadas, tarifa(s) de pago y por pieza
si se le paga en base a una tarifa por pieza.

B Informacién del trabajador
Al contratar a un empleado usted tiene que darle
a cada uno una copia firmada del formulario de
Acuerdo entre contratistas agricolas y trabajadores
(F700-046-999). Este formulario, el cual tiene que
firmarlo el Contratista de Trabajadores Agricolas
y el trabajador, tiene que explicar los términos y
condiciones de empleo en inglés y en cualquier
otro idioma comun al trabajador. Usted también
tiene que darle al trabajador una copia de la hoja
de informacién de los Derechos de los trabajadores
agricolas contratados. L&I le enviara por correo
estos formularios con su licencia aprobada.

iHay alguna multa?

Si. La licencia para Contratistas de Trabajadores
Agricolas puede ser revocada, negada o suspendida
por falta de cumplimiento con la ley. Una violacién a
la Ley de Contratistas de Trabajadores Agricolas es un
delito menor, sancionado por una multa maxima de
$5,000 o seis meses de encarcelamiento, o ambos.

iNecesita mas informacion?

Llame o visite la oficina més cercana de L&l o

al Supervisor de la seccion para Contratistas de
Trabajadores Agricolas al 360-902-4537 o envie un
correo electronico a ESGENERAL@Lni.wa.gov.

Hay otros formatos disponibles para personas con
discapacidades. Llame al 1-800-547-8367. Usuarios de
TDD llamen al 360-902-5797. L&1 es un empleador con
igualdad de oportunidad.

PUBLICACION F700-088-999 [04-2012]
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A, - ington State Department of Farm Labor Contractor License
‘) Labor & Industries  Application/Renewal Packet Instructions

Important — Please read carefully as your packet will be returned to you if it’s incomplete.

You have received this packet because:
e You're applying for a new Farm Labor Contractor’s License OR
e You need to renew your Farm Labor Contractor’s License before the end of the year.

Complete and return the required documents in one packet:

1. Application or Renewal for Farm Labor Contractor License form (F700-014-000). Complete
and sign this application form.

2. Attach a complete list of your agents and subcontractors who will be performing farm labor
contractor activities under your license. Include agent/subcontractor's name, address, and
telephone number.

3. Application/Renewal fee. See the fees below:

e $35.00 for general farm labor contractors.
e $100.00 for forestation/reforestation contractors.
e $135.000 for both general farm labor and forestation/reforestation.

4. Tax Compliance Certificate forms. Complete the forms in this section and mail or fax them to
each corresponding agency for approval.

e Department of Revenue (F700-100-000).
e Department of Employment Security (F700-099-000). Email is the fastest way to get this
processed.

Include the two forms above after they have been signed and returned.
e Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Form 8821 (F700-098-000). You must complete, sign, and
mail or fax this form to the IRS with your IRS Tax Compliance form. Don’t wait for the IRS

return approval to you. The IRS will send the compliance certification approval
directly to L&I.

Continue to next page



5. Surety bond paperwork. Include one of the following.
e New applicants must send us either:

o The original surety bond/completed Farm Labor Contractor’s Bond form (F700-066-
000) OR

0 Anoriginal Farm Labor Contractor Assignment of Account or Time Deposit form
(F700-060-000). You must have the form completed and signed by the bank or credit
union personnel and notary.

e Renewal applicants must send us either:
0 Anoriginal bond/completed Farm Labor Contractor’'s Bond form (F700-066-000) OR

o0 A bond continuation certificate (this may be a copy). This is applicable even if you
have a continuous bond. OR

0 We only need a new original Farm Labor Contractor Assignment of Account or Time
Deposit form if the name, address, or phone number of your bank changed otherwise
a copy is sufficient.

6. Proof of auto liability insurance if you transport your workers. We need proof of current auto
liability coverage showing at least three minimum coverage amounts required by law and the
make, model, and license plate number of all insured vehicles you will use to transport workers.

Incomplete license application/renewal packets will be returned. When preparing your packet,
check to make sure you have enclosed all required items.

Send all required documents and renewal fee in one package to:

Department of Labor & Industries

Employment Standards/Farm Labor Contractor Unit
PO Box 44510

Olympia WA 98504-4510

End of year, renewal applicants ensure continuous coverage.
Send your completed application/renewal packet in before November 30, 2016. This will allow time
for processing before January 1, 2017.

Questions?
If you have any questions, please contact Tisa Soeteber, Farm Labor Contractor Specialist, at 360-
902-4537 or toll-free at 1-866-219-7321 or by email at zepg235@Lni.wa.gov.



mailto:zepq235@Lni.wa.gov

Department of Labor and Industries
Employment Standards Program
Farm Labor Unit

PO Box 44510

OlympiaWA 98504-4510
1-866-219-7321/(360) 902-4537

APPLICAT

http://www.|ni.wa.gov/WorkplaceRights/Agriculture/

FarmL abor

RESET

ION OR RENEWAL FOR

FARM LABOR CONTRACTOR LICENSE

] New License ] Renewa
D Forestation and/or
Farm Labor Reforestation

[ Recruitment Only

Applicant’sfull legal name  First

Middle Last

Suffix

List any other names used

IMPORTANT: All changesin your home or business address must be reported immediately to the Dept. of Labor and Industries.

Applicant’s home address City State ZIP
Home phone Business phone Cdlular phone
Email address UBI number L& account number
Name of Business (corporate and assumed business name)
Business address (physical location) City State ZIP
Business mailing address (if different from above) City State ZIP
Type of business
D Sole proprietor D Partnership D Corporation
If apartnership, list the name, home and business addresses of each partner.
Name Name Name
Home address Home address Home address
Business address Business address Business address
City City City

If a corporation, give state of incorporation

Date incorporated

Attach copy of certificate of incorporation

List all personsfinancial

ly interested, either as partners, stockholders, associates, profit sharers, or

providers of board or lodging to agricultural employees.

Name Name Name

Address Address Address

City State  ZIP City State  ZIP City State  ZIP
Phone *Amt of interest Phone. *Amt of interest Phone *Amt of interest

*List the amount or percentage of each applicant’s sharein the proposed farm or forest labor contracting operation.

How many workers do you plan to employ

thisyear?

Describe in detail how and where you intend to obtain your employees and the type of work you intend to perform:

Were you licensed as afarm labor contractor in Washington last year?

DY&S DNO

F700-014-000 Application for Farm Labor Contractor License 9-10
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If “Yes’, how many workers did you employ?

Have you or any of your agents, partners, associates, stockholders, or profit sharers now or ever had afarm D D
labor contractor’s license suspended, revoked or denied by any state or federal agency? Yes No

If *Yes’, give the name of the person, the state or federal agency involved and the date of suspension, revocation or denial.

Areyou or any of your agents, partners, associates, stockholders or profit sharers now or ever been licensed D D
to operate as afarm labor contractor in any other state(s)? Yes No

If “Yes’, name the person(s) and dates licensed.

Are there any pending administrative actions, law suits or outstanding judgments against you or any of your D v D N
agents, partners, associates, stockholders or profit sharersin any state or federal court arising out of & °
activities as afarm labor contractor?

If “Yes’, describe in detail the parties involved, the nature of the action, and the current status or final disposition of the matter.
(If more space is needed, attach additional sheets).

Do you intend to use any motor vehicle in the conduct of your farm labor contracting activities? D Ves D No

If “Yes’, will the vehicle(s) be used to transport workers? D Ves D No

For each vehicle to be used, complete the following and supply evidence to prove liability coverage.
(If more space is needed, attach additional sheets).

Name of the insurance company

Company’s address City State ZIP

Business name of insurance agent

Agent’ s business address City State ZIP

Agent’ s business phone Policy Number Amount of coverage

Asan applicant for afarm labor contracting license, being first duly sworn, i depose and say:

That | will at all times conduct my business as a Farm Labor Contractor in accordance with Chapter 19.30, Revised Code of
Washington and the rules of the Director of the State of Washington Department of Labor and Industries.

With regards to any action filed against me concerning my activities as a Farm Labor Contractor, | appoint the Director of the State
of Washington Department of Labor and Industries as my lawful agent to accept service of summons when | am not present in the
jurisdiction in which the action is commenced or have in any other way become unavailable to accept service.

That | will comply with al provisions of Chapter 19.30, Revised Code of Washington.

That the information | have supplied on or with this application for a Farm Labor Contractor License is true and correct to the best
of my knowledge.

Date Contractor’s signature

IMPORTANT:

All of the following application/renewal items must be submitted to Labor and I ndustriesin one package.

D Application/Renewa Form D License Fee D Dept. of Revenue Tax Compliance Certification
(signed and approved by DOR)

D Dept. of Employment Security Tax Compliance D Proof of Auto Liability D Proof of Surety (bond or assignment of account)
Certification (signed & approved by ESD) Insurance (if applicable)

F700-014-000 Application for Farm Labor Contractor License 9-10 page 2



Department of Labor and Industries
Employment Standards Program
Farm Labor Contracting Unit

INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE
TAX COMPLIANCE

PO Box 44510 N

Olympia WA 98504-4510 L S

Phone  (360) 902-4537 CERTIFICATION

http://www.|ni .wa.gov/WorkplaceRights for Regl ster ed Far m L abor Contr actors

[Agriculture/FarmL abor

Applicant Name: [Last, First, Middle Initial] Social Security Number (SSH):

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Type of Business: [Mark one box and list Tax 1D Number)

[Markonebox] Owner 1 Authorized Tax Matters Person [

Business Name: SoleProprietor U .
Partnership I

DBA (Doing Business As), if applicable: Corporation I T

________________________________________________________________________________________ Other (Specify) [
Have you done business under any Other BUSINESS NaME OF | L e,

Employer Identification Number (EIN)?  Yes [J No O | Didyou have employees working for your businessin the past
12months? Yes[J No[J If“Yes’, number:

If “Yes’, please list names(s) and EIN number(s) below:

Name: BIN: e, Do you expect to have employees working for you in the next
Name. BN 12months? Yesd No[l I1f“Yes’, number;
Address: [List Street/PO Box, City, ZIP+4] Daytime Telephone Number:
________________________________________________________________________________________ ( )
________________________________________________________________________________________ Fax Number:
........................................................................................ ( )

For Official Use Only
Do Not Write Below ThisLine
[This section to be completed in full by IRS staff only.]

Internal Revenue Service Certification [Mark one box, then sign and date form]
YES NO N/A
Outstanding Liability d a a
Returns Filed:
Payroll [Forms 941, 940, 943] a a a
Individual Income [Form1040] O a a
Corporation [Form 1120] a a a
Other (Specify) . a a a
In Compliance U4 Not In Compliance U
Signature of IRS Certifying Official: Date:

Forms may be certified by contacting the INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE at the following address, or it may be sent to
their fax number listed below. RS will not return this form you. RS will send certification approval directly to the
Department of Labor and Industries at the address listed on the top of thisform.

Fax Number Address
(503) 227-5594 Internal Revenue Service — EG: 2315
1220 SW 3" Ave, Suite G044
Phone Number Portland, OR 97204-2827
(503) 265-3743 MS: 0105 Attn: A. Gaylord

PRIVACY ACT STATEMENT: The submission of your Social Security Number is voluntary. It will be used only for identification purposes to
facilitate your application for a Farm Labor Contractor’s license. Failure to provide this number may result in adelay of the application process.

F700-098-000 IRS Tax Compliance Certification for Registered Farm Labor Contractors 09-13




o S021

OMB Mo, 1645-1166

Tax Information Authorization For IRS Use Only

Received by

{Rev. October 2012) P Information about Form 8821 and its instructions is at www.irs.gov/form8s821. Bl

Department of the Treasury
Internal Revenue Service

» Do not sign this form unless all applicable lines have been completed.
p Torequest a copy or transcript of your tax return, use Form 4506, 4506-T, or 4506T-EZ.

Telephone
Function

Date

1 Taxpayer information. Taxpayer must sign and date this form on line 7.

Taxpayer name and address (type or print)

Taxpayer identification number(s)

Daytime telephone number Plan number (if applicable)

2 Appointee. If you wish to name more than one appointee, attach a list to this form.

Name and address

Department of Labor and Industries
Attn: Farm Labor Contracting Unit

PO Box 44510, Olympia WA 98504-4510

CAF No.

PTIN

Telephone No. (360) 902-4537
Fax No. (360) 902-5300

Check if new: Address [] TelephoneNo. [ FaxNe. [

3 Tax matters. The appointee is authorized to inspect and/or rece

line. Do not use Form 8821 to request copies of tax returns.

ive confidential tax information for the tax matters listed on this

{a)
Type of Tax
(Income, Employment, Payroll, Excise, Estate,
Gift, Civil Penalty, etc.) (see instructions)

(b}
Tax Form Number
{1040, 941, 720, etc.)

)] {d)
Year(s) or Periodis) Specific Tax Matters (see instr)
(see the instructions for line 3)

Income/Business

1040, 1065, 1120, 11208

2012 - 2016

Employment

940, 941, 943, 944, 945

2012 - 2016

4 Specific use not recorded on Centralized Authorization File (CAF). If the tax information authorization is for a specific
use not recorded on CAF, check this box. See the instructions. If you check this box, skiplinesS5and6 . . . . . . P []

5 Disclosure of tax information (you must check a box on line 5a or 5b unless the box on line 4 is checked):
alf you want copies of tax information, notices, and other written communications sent to the appointee on an ongeing

basis, check this box

Note. Appointees will no longer re

ceive forms, publications and other related materials with the notices.
b If you do not want any copies of notices or communications sent to your appointee, checkthisbox . . . . . . . P

O

(=]

6 Retention/revocation of tax information authorizations. This tax information authorization automatically revokes all prior
authorizations for the same tax matters you listed on line 3 above unless you checked the box on line 4. If you do not want
to revoke a prior tax information authorization, you must attach a copy of any authorizations you want to remain in effect

and check this box

> 0O

To revoke this tax information authorization, see the instructions.

7 Signature of taxpayer. If signed by a corporate officer, partner, guardian, executor, receiver, administrator, trustee, or
party other than the taxpayer, | certify that | have the authority to execute this form with respect to the tax matters and tax

periods shown on line 3 above.

P IF NOT SIGNED AND DATED, THIS TAX INFORMATION AUTHORIZATION WILL BE RETURNED.

- DO NOT SIGN THIS FORM IF IT IS BLANK OR INCOMPLETE.

Signature

Date

Print Name

I:l I:l I:l I:l I:l PIN number for electronic signature

Title (if applicable)

For Privacy Act and Paperwork Reduction Act Notice, see instructions.

Cat. No. 11596P Farm 8821 Rev. 10-2012)



Department of Labor and Industries
Employment Standards Program
Farm Labor Contractor Unit

Department of Revenue
Tax Compliance

OlympiaWA 98504-4510 ~ Certification
Toll Free 1-866-219-7321 for Registered Farm Labor Contractors
Phone  (360) 902-4537
www.Ini .wa.gov/WorkplaceRights/Agriculture RESET
/FarmL abor/
Business Name: Employer Identification Number (EIN):
DBA (Doing Business As), if applicable: Type of Business: [Mark one box and list Social Security
Number or Tax ID Number]
Address: [List Street/PO Box, City, ZIP+4]
________________________________________________________________________________ sole Propriecor Q@
................................................................................ Partnership S
________________________________________________________________________________ Corporation a
Other (Specifyy Q.
Master Business License Unified Business Identifier NUumber | -
(UBI):
Daytime Telephone Number:;
Contact Name and Title: ( )
NaME e Fax Number:
Title ( )

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR (USDOL) information [Mark one box and enter information, if applicable]
Areyou required to have afederal Farm Labor Contractor License? No O Yes O

If “Yes’, what is the number?:

For Official Use Only
Do Not Write Below ThisLine

[This section to be completed in full by DOR staff only.]
Department of Revenue (DOR) Certification [Mark one box and enter information, if applicable]

O In Compliance Taxes current through:

month day year

U Not In Compliance
Signature of DOR Certifying Official: Date:

Title:

Forms may be certified by contacting the DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE by mail or in person at the following addresses,
or it may be sent to their fax number listed below. If faxed, attached a written request asking that the certified form be
returned by fax to you at the number you provide. Upon certification by DOR, return this form to the
Farm Labor Contracting section of the Department of Labor and Industries at the address listed on the top of this form.

Mailing & Street Address Fax Number
Washington State Department of Revenue (360) 704-5863
Compliance Division
6500 Linderson Way, Suite 202 Phone Number
Tumwater, Washington 98501 (360) 704-5800

F700-100-000 Revenue Tax Compliance Certification for Registered Farm Labor Contractors 09-14




Department of Labor and Industries

DEPARTMENT OF
Form ot Contrating Secon 5 EMPLOYMENT SECURITY
Olyma WA 98504-4510 = TAX COMPLIANCE

Toll Free 1-866-219-7321
Phone (360) 902-4537 CERTI FI CATI ON
http://www.Ini.wa.gov/WorkplaceRights/ H
AgriculturelFarmL abor for Registered Farm Labor Contractors
Business Name: Employer Identification Number (EIN):
DBA (Doing Business As), if applicable: Type of Business: [Mark one box and list Social Security
Number or Tax ID Number]
Address: [Street/PO Box, City, ZIP+4]
................................................................................ SolePropritor O
________________________________________________________________________________ Partnership
................................................................................ Corporation

Other (Specify) U

Master Business License Unified Business |dentifier Number

(UBD):
Daytime Telephone Number:
Contact Name and Title: ( )
N 0L Fax Number:
T ( )
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR (USDOL) information [Mark one box and enter information, if applicable]

Areyou required to have afederal Farm Labor Contractor License?
Yes U If “Yes’, what is the number?:

No O

For Official Use Only
Do Not Write Below ThisLine
[This section to be completed in full by EMPLOYMENT SECURITY staff only.]

Department of Employment Security Certification [Mark onebox andenterinformation,if applicable]

U In Compliance Taxes current through:

month day year RESET

U Not In Compliance

Signature of Emp. Sec. Certifying Official: Date:

Title:

Forms may be certified by contacting the DEPARTMENT OF EMPLOYMENT SECURITY by mail or in person at the
following addresses, or it may be sent to their fax number listed below. If faxed, attached awritten request asking that the
certified form be returned by fax to you at the number you provide. Upon certification by Emp. Sec., return this form to
the Farm Labor Contracting section of the Department of Labor and Industries at the address listed on the top of this form.

Mailing Address Street Address
Washington State Department of Employment Security Washington State Department of Employment Security
Ul Tax Administration Ul Tax Administration
P. O. Box 9046 212 Maple Park
Olympia, Washington 98504-9046 Olympia, Washington 98507
Email: publicworks@esd.wa.gov
(for quickest response time, use email) Phone Number
Fax Number (360) 902-9450

(360) 902-9264

F700-099-000 ESD Tax Compliance Certification for Registered Farm Labor Contractors 09-13




Department of Labor and Industries
Employment Standards Section

PO Box 44510

Olympia WA 98504-4510

FARM LABOR CONTRACTOR'SBOND

BOND NO.

KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS: That we

as Principal, and , acorporation

organized and existing under the laws of the State of and authorized to transact surety businessin
the State of Washington, as Surety, are held and firmly

bound unto the STATE OF WASHINGTON in the penal sum of % ) DOLLARS,
lawful money of the United States of Americato be paid to the State of Washington, for the payment of which sum, well and truly

to be made, we bind ourselves, our heirs, executors, administrators, successors and assigns, jointly and severaly, firmly by these
presents.

SEALED WITH OUR SEALS, and DATED this day of , 20

THE CONDITIONS OF THE ABOVE OBLIGATION is such that,

WHEREAS, The above bounden principal has made application to the State Department of Labor and Industries for alicense to
act asaFarm Labor Contractor in the State of Washington for the year ending

December 31, 20 , in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 392 of the Laws of 1955 and RCW 19.30, each amended by
Laws of 1985, Chapter 28, Laws of 1986, Chapter 107, and Laws of 1987, Chapter 216, is required pursuant to the provisions of

said law to furnish abond in the

Penal sum of 63 ) DOLLARS,
Conditioned as required by said law.

KNOWN, THEREFORE, the condition of this obligation is such that if the Principal shall fully comply with the provisions of
Chapter 392 of the Laws of 1955 and RCW 19.30, each amended by Laws of 1985, Chapter 28, Laws of 1986, Chapter 107, and
Laws of 1987, Chapter 216, hereinafter called the Act, and any and all rules and regul ations promulgated in accordance with the
provisions of the Act, and be conditioned on payment of sums legally owing under contract to an agricultural employee, then this
obligation shall be null and void; otherwise, it shall remain in full force and effect. The aggregate liability of the surety upon

such bond for al claims that may arise thereunder shall not exceed the face amount of the bond.

Thisobligation is applicable to the license period commencing 20 and ending

December 31, 20 , and shall beirrevocable during this period.
IN WITNESS OF THIS CONTRACT, The Principal and Surety have affixed their hands and sealsthis

day of , 20

Principal’s Name Surety Name

By:

F700-066-000 Farm Labor Contractor’s Bond 4-01 RESET



Department of Labor and Industries
Employment Standards Program

PO Box 44510

Olympia WA 98504-4510
http://www.Ini.wa.gov/WorkplaceRights/
Agriculture/FarmL abor

FARM LABOR CONTRACTOR
ASSIGNMENT OF ACCOUNT
OR TIME DEPOSIT

This assignment is for the purpose of fulfilling the requirement of RCW 19.30.040. The undersigned
does assign, transfer, and set over unto the State of Washington all rights, title, and interest in and to

$ ( thousand and no/100 dollars) of Account No. in

the in the name of
(bank name) (assignor)
with full power and authority to demand, collect, and receive said deposit and to give receipt and release

for the uses and purposes prescribed by said RCW 19.30.040. It is understood and agreed that

holds this savings account or time deposit in its possession

(bank name)
and agrees to hold $ until arelease of this assignment is received from the State

of Washington. It is further understood that this assignment is subject to judgments which may be

rendered against in accordance with the provisions of

RCW 19.30. The deposit will be released to the State of Washington after 30 days notice on demand
with no other condition of release.

Signed and dated at , Washington this day
of , 20

Acceptance (to be completed by bank personnel)

The undersigned accepts the foregoing assignment of account or time Print/type name of depositor
deposit and agrees to hold the funds until an authorized release is
received from the State of Washington.

Account # in the amount of Signature of depositor
$
Date Address
City State  ZIP+4

Notarized signature of authorized bank personnel

glil?rSECRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME ON THIS Print/type name of authorized bank personnel
NOTARY PUBLIC IN AND FOR THE STATE OF Signature of authorized bank personnel
RESIDING IN Bank address
MY COMMISSION EXPIRES ON City State  ZIP+4
Phone number
(Notary Seal)

F700-060-000 FLC Assignment of Account or Time Deposit 10-12



Chapter 19.30 RCW

Farm Labor Contractors

RCW 19.30.010 DEFINILIONS. .....iieeieeeiiiiiiee e e ettt e e e e e et et ee it e e e e e e e e eeaetn e aaeeeeeeestasn s aeeeeeeeesannnnaaeeeeennnes 1
RCW 19.30.020 License required--DUPIICALES. .........ccoeiiieieiee e 2
RCW 19.30.030 Applicants--Qualifications--Fee--Liability iNSUranCe. ............c.oouuviiiiiiieiiiiee e 2
RCW 19.30.040 SUIety DONA--SECUILY. ....cceeieeeeeeeee ettt 3
RCW 19.30.045 Claim for wages--Action upon surety bond OF SECUNLY. ........ccciviviiiiiiiii e 4
RCW 19.30.050 License--Grounds fOr ENYING. ......oooiiiiieeeeeee et 4
RCW 19.30.060 License--Revocation, suspension, refusal to iSSUE OF FENEW.............uceiieeeiiieiiiiiiiiieeeeeeiiiiinn 4
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RCW 19.30.010 Definitions.

As used in this chapter:

1)

)

©)

(4)

()

(6)

(7)

(@)

"Person" includes any individual, firm, partnership, association, corporation, or unit or agency
of state or local government.

"Farm labor contractor" means any person, or his or her agent or subcontractor, who, for
a fee, performs any farm labor contracting activity.

"Farm labor contracting activity" means recruiting, soliciting, employing, supplying,
transporting, or hiring agricultural employees.

"Agricultural employer” means any person engaged in agricultural activity, including
the growing, producing, or harvesting of farm or nursery products, or engaged in
the forestation or reforestation of lands, which includes but is not limited to the planting,
transplanting, tubing, precommercial thinning, and thinning of trees and seedlings,
the clearing, piling, and disposal of brush and slash, the harvest of Christmas trees, and
other related activities.

"Agricultural employee” means any person who renders personal services to, or under
the direction of, an agricultural employer in connection with the employer's agricultural
activity.

This chapter shall not apply to employees of the employment security department
acting in their official capacity or their agents, nor to any common carrier or full time
regular employees thereof while transporting agricultural employees, nor to any person
who performs any of the services enumerated in subsection (3) of this section only
within the scope of his or her regular employment for one agricultural employer on whose
behalf he or she is so acting, unless he or she is receiving a commission or fee, which
commission or fee is determined by the number of workers recruited, or to a nonproflt
corporation or organization which performs the same functions for its members. Such
nonprofit corporation or organization shall be one in which:

(@ None of its directors, officers, or employees are deriving any profit
beyond a reasonable salary for services performed in its behalf.

(b) Membership dues and fees are wused solely for the maintenance of the
association or corporation.

"Fee" means:

(& Any money or other valuable consideration paid or promised to be paid for services
rendered or to be rendered by a farm labor contractor.

(b) Any valuable consideration received or to be received by a farm labor contractor for
or in connection with any of the services described in subsection (3) of this
section, and shall include the difference between any amount received or to be
received by him, and the amount paid out by him for or inconnection with the
rendering of such services.

"Director” as used in this chapter means the director of the Department of Labor and
Industries of the state of Washington.
[1985 ¢ 280 § 1; 1955 ¢ 392 § 1.]
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RCW 19.30.020 License required--Duplicates.

No person shall act as a farm labor contractor until a license to do so has been issued to him or her
by the director, and unless such license is in full force and effect and is in the contractor's possession.
The director shall, by regulation, provide a means of issuing duplicate licenses in case of loss of the
original license or any other appropriate instances. The director shall issue, on a monthly basis, a list

of currently licensed farm labor contractors.
[1985 ¢ 280 § 2; 1955 ¢ 392 § 2]

RCW 19.30.030 Applicants--Qualifications--Fee--Liability insurance.

The director shall not issue to any person a license to act as a farm labor contractor until:

(1)

(2)

3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

Such person has executed a written application on a form prescribed by the director,
subscribed and sworn to by the applicant, and containing (a) a statement by the applicant
of all facts required by the director concerning the applicant's character, competency,
responsibility, and the manner and method by which he or she proposes to conduct
operations as a farm labor contractor if such license is issued, and (b) the names and
addresses of all persons financially interested, either as partners, stockholders, associates,
profit sharers, or providers of board or lodging to agricultural employees in the proposed
operation as a labor contractor, together with the amount of their respective interests;

The director, after investigation, is satisfied as to the character, competency, and
responsibility of the applicant;

The applicant has paid to the director a license fee of:

(1)  Thirty-five dollars in the case of a farm labor contractor not engaged in
forestation or reforestation, or

(2)  one hundred dollars in the case of a farm labor contractor engaged in forestation
or reforestation or such other sum as the director finds necessary, and adopts by
rule, for the administrative costs of evaluating applications;

The applicant has filed proof satisfactory to the director of the existence of a policy of
insurance with any insurance carrier authorized to do business in the state of Washington
in an amount satisfactory to the director, which insures the contractor against liability for
damage to persons or property arising out of the contractor's operation of, or ownership of,
any vehicle or vehicles for the transportation of individuals in connection with the
contractor's business, activities, or operations as a farm labor contractor;

The applicant has filed a surety bond or other security which meets the requirements set
forth in RCW 19.30.040;

The applicant executes a written statement which shall be subscribed and sworn to and
shall contain the following declaration:
"With regards to any action filed against me concerning my activities as a farm labor
contractor, | appoint the director of the Washington department of labor and
industries as my lawful agent to accept service of summons when | am not present
in the jurisdiction in which the action is commenced or have in any other way
become unavailable to accept service"; and
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RCW 19.30.030 (Cont)

(7)

The applicant has stated on his or her application whether or not his or her contractor's
license or the license of any of his or her agents, partners, associates, stockholders, or
profit sharers has ever been suspended, revoked, or denied by any state or federal agency,
and whether or not there are any outstanding judgments against him or her or any of his or
her agents, partners, associates, stockholders, or profit sharers in any state or federal court

arising out of activities as a farm labor contractor.
[1985 ¢ 280 § 3; 1955 ¢ 392 § 3.]

RCW 19.30.040 Surety bond--Security.

(1)

(2)

®3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

The director shall require the deposit of a surety bond by any person acting as a farm labor
contractor under this chapter to insure compliance with the provisions of this chapter. Such
bond shall be in an amount specified by the director in accordance with such criteria as the
director adopts by rule but shall not be less than five thousand dollars. The bond shall be
payable to the state of Washington and be conditioned on payment of sums legally owing
under contract to an agricultural employee. The aggregate liability of the surety upon such
bond for all claims which may arise thereunder shall not exceed the face amount of the
bond.

The amount of the bond may be raised or additional security required by the director, upon
his or her own motion or upon petition to the director by any person, when it is shown that
the security or bond is insufficient to satisfy the contractor's potential liability for the licensed
period.

No surety insurer may provide any bond, undertaking, recognizance, or other obligation for
the purpose of securing or guaranteeing any act, duty, or obligation, or the refraining from
any act with respect to a contract using the services of a farm labor contractor unless the
farm labor contractor has made application for or has a valid license issued under RCW
19.30.030 at the time of issuance of the bond, undertaking, recognizance, or other
obligation.

Surety bonds may not be canceled or terminated during the period in which the bond is
executed unless thirty days' notice is provided by the surety to the department. The bond is
written for a one-year term and may be renewed or extended by continuation certification at
the option of the surety.

In lieu of the surety bond required by this section, the contractor may file with the director a
deposit consisting of cash or other security acceptable to the director. The deposit shall not
be less than five thousand dollars in value. The security deposited with the director in lieu
of the surety bond shall be returned to the contractor at the expiration of three years after
the farm labor contractor's license has expired or been revoked if no legal action has been
instituted against the contractor or on the security deposit at the expiration of the three
years.

If a contractor has deposited a bond with the director and has failed to comply with the
conditions of the bond as provided by this section, and has departed from this state, service

may be made upon the surety as prescribed in RCW 4.28.090.
[1987 ¢ 216 § 1; 1986 ¢ 197 § 15; 1985 ¢ 280 § 4; 1955 ¢ 392 § 4.]
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RCW 19.30.045 Claim for wages--Action upon surety bond or security.

(1)

(2)

Any person, having a claim for wages pursuant to this chapter may bring suit upon the
surety bond or security deposit filed by the contractor pursuant to RCW 19.30.040, in any
court of competent jurisdiction of the county in which the claim arose, or in which either the
claimant or contractor resides.

The right of action is assignable in the name of the director or any other person.
[1987 ¢ 216 § 2; 1986 ¢ 197 § 19.]

RCW 19.30.050 License--Grounds for denying.

A license to operate as a farm labor contractor shall be denied:

(1)

(2)

To any person who sells or proposes to sell intoxicating liquors in a building or on premises
where he or she operates or proposes to operate as a farm labor contractor, or

To a person whose license has been revoked within three years from the date of

application.
[1985 ¢ 280 § 5; 1955 ¢ 392 § 5.]

RCW 19.30.060 License--Revocation, suspension, refusal to issue or renew.

Any person may protest the grant or renewal of a license under this section. The director may revoke,
suspend, or refuse to issue or renew any license when it is shown that:

(1)

(2)

3)
(4)

(5)

(6)

The farm labor contractor or any agent of the contractor has violated or failed to comply
with any of the provisions of this chapter;

The farm labor contractor has made any misrepresentations or false statements in his or
her application for a license;

The conditions under which the license was issued have changed or no longer exist;

The farm labor contractor, or any agent of the contractor, has violated or wilfully aided or
abetted any person in the violation of, or failed to comply with, any law of the state of
Washington regulating employment in agriculture, the payment of wages to farm
employees, or the conditions, terms, or places of employment affecting the health and
safety of farm employees, which is applicable to the business activities, or operations of the
contractor in his or her capacity as a farm labor contractor;

The farm labor contractor or any agent of the contractor has in recruiting farm labor
solicited or induced the violation of any then existing contract of employment of such
laborers; or

The farm labor contractor or any agent of the contractor has an unsatisfied judgment
against him or her in any state or federal court, arising out of his or her farm labor
contracting activities.

The director shall immediately suspend the license or certificate of a person who has been certified
pursuant to RCW 74.20A.320 by the department of social and health services as a person who is not
in compliance with a support order or a *residential or visitation order. If the person has continued to
meet all other requirements for reinstatement during the suspension, reissuance of the license or
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certificate shall be automatic upon the director's receipt of a release issued by the Department of

Social and Health Services stating that the licensee is in compliance with the order.
[1997 c 58 § 846; 1985 ¢ 280 § 6; 1955 ¢ 392 § 6.]

RCW 19.30.060 cont.
NOTES:

*Reviser's note: 1997 ¢ 58 § 887 requiring a court to order certification of noncompliance with
residential provisions of a court-ordered parenting plan was vetoed. Provisions ordering the
department of social and health services to certify a responsible parent based on a court order to
certify for noncompliance with residential provisions of a parenting plan were vetoed. See RCW
74.20A.320.

Short title--Part headings, captions, table of contents not law--Exemptions and waivers from
federal law--Conflict with federal requirements--Severability--1997 ¢ 58: See RCW 74.08A.900
through 74.08A.904.

Effective dates--Intent--1997 ¢ 58: See notes following RCW 74.20A.320.

RCW 19.30.070 License--Contents.
Each license shall contain, on the face thereof:

(1) The name and address of the licensee and the fact that he or she is licensed to act as a
farm labor contractor for the period upon the face of the license only;

(2)  The number, date of issuance, and date of expiration of the license;
3) The amount of the surety bond deposited by the licensee;
(4)  The fact that the license may not be transferred or assigned; and

(5) A statement that the licensee is or is not licensed to transport workers.
[1985 ¢ 280 § 7; 1955¢ 392 § 7.]

RCW 19.30.081 License--Duration--Renewal.

Farm labor contractors may hold either a one-year license or a two-year license, at the director's
discretion.

The one-year license shall run to and include the 31st day of December next following the date
thereof unless sooner revoked by the director. A license may be renewed each year upon the
payment of the annual license fee, but the director shall require that evidence of a renewed bond be
submitted and that the contractor have a bond in full force and effect.

The two-year license shall run to and include the 31st day of December of the year following the year
of issuance unless sooner revoked by the director. This license may be renewed every two years

under the same terms as the one-year license, except that a farm labor contractor possessing a two-
year license shall have evidence of a bond in full force and effect, and file an application on which he

or she shall disclose all information required by RCW 19.30.030 (1)(b), (4), and (7).
[1987 ¢ 216 § 3;1986 ¢ 197 § 16; 1985 ¢ 280 § 8.]

RCW 19.30.090 License--Application for renewal.

All applications for renewal shall state the names and addresses of all persons financially interested
either as partners, associates or profit sharers in the operation as a farm labor contractor.
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[1955 ¢ 392 § 9]
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RCW 19.30.110 Farm labor contractor--Duties.

Every person acting as a farm labor contractor shall:

(1)

(2)

3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

(7)

Carry a current farm labor contractor's license at all times and exhibit it to all persons with
whom the contractor intends to deal in the capacity of a farm labor contractor prior to so
dealing.

Disclose to every person with whom he or she deals in the capacity of a farm labor
contractor the amount of his or her bond and the existence and amount of any claims
against the bond.

File at the United States post office serving the address of the contractor, as noted on the
face of the farm labor contractor's license, a correct change of address immediately upon
each occasion the contractor permanently moves his or her address, and notify the director
within ten days after an address change is made.

Promptly when due, pay or distribute to the individuals entitled thereto all moneys or other
things of value entrusted to the contractor by any third person for such purpose.

Comply with the terms and provisions of all legal and valid agreements and contracts
entered into between the contractor in the capacity of a farm labor contractor and third
persons.

File information regarding work offers with the nearest employment service office, such
information to include wages and work to be performed and any other information
prescribed by the director.

On a form prescribed by the director, furnish to each worker, at the time of hiring, recruiting,
soliciting, or supplying, whichever occurs first, a written statement in English and any other
language common to workers who are not fluent or literate in English that contains a
description of:

(@) The compensation to be paid and the method of computing the rate of
compensation;

(b) The terms and conditions of any bonus offered, including the manner of
determining when the bonus is earned,

(c) The terms and conditions of any loan made to the worker;

(d)  The conditions of any transportation, housing, board, health, and day care
services or any other employee benefit to be provided by the farm labor
contractor or by his or her agents, and the costs to be charged for each of them;

(e)  The terms and conditions of employment, including the approximate length of
season or period of employment and the approximate starting and ending dates
thereof, and the crops on which and kinds of activities in which the worker may
be employed,;

)] The terms and conditions under which the worker is furnished clothing or
equipment;

(9) The place of employment;
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RCW 19.30.110 cont.

(8)

9)

(h)

()
(k)

()

The name and address of the owner of all operations, or the owner's agent,
where the worker will be working as a result of being recruited, solicited, supplied,
or employed by the farm labor contractor;

The existence of a labor dispute at the worksite;
The name and address of the farm labor contractor;

The existence of any arrangements with any owner or agent of any
establishment at the place of employment under which the farm labor contractor
is to receive a fee or any other benefit resulting from any sales by such
establishment to the workers; and

The name and address of the surety on the contractor's bond and the workers'
right to claim against the bond.

Furnish to the worker each time the worker receives a compensation paymentfrom the farm
labor contractor, a written statement itemizing the total payment and the amount and
purpose of each deduction therefrom, hours worked, rate of pay, and pieces done if the
work is done on a piece rate basis, and if the work is done under the Service Contract Act
(41 U.S.C. Secs. 351 through 401) or related federal or state law, a written statement of
any applicable prevailing wage.

With respect to each worker recruited, solicited, employed, supplied, or hired by the farm
labor contractor:

(@)

(b)

Make, keep, and preserve for three years a record of the following information:
(i) The basis on which wages are paid;

(i)  The number of piecework units earned, if paid on a piecework basis;

(i) The number of hours worked;

(iv) The total pay period earnings;

(v) The specific sums withheld and the purpose of each sum withheld; and
(vi) The net pay; and

Provide to any other farm labor contractor and to any user of farm labor for whom
he or she recruits, solicits, supplies, hires, or employs workers copies of all
records, with respect to each such worker, which the contractor is required by
this chapter to make, keep, and preserve. The recipient of such records shall
keep them for a period of three years from the end of the period of employment.
When necessary to administer this chapter, the director may require that any
farm labor contractor provide the director with certified copies of his or her payroll
records for any payment period. The record-keeping requirements of this chapter
shall be met if either the farm labor contractor or any user of the contractor's
services makes, keeps, and preserves for the requisite time period the records
required under this section, and so long as each worker receives the written
statements specified in subsection (8) of this section.

[1985 ¢ 280 § 9; 1955 ¢ 392 § 11.]
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RCW 19.30.120 Farm labor contractor--Prohibited acts.

No person acting as a farm labor contractor shall:

(1)
(2)

3)

(4)

Make any misrepresentation or false statement in an application for a license.

Make or cause to be made, to any person, any false, fraudulent, or misleading
representation, or publish or circulate or cause to be published or circulated any false,
fraudulent, or misleading information concerning the terms or conditions or existence of
employment at any place or places, or by any person or persons, or of any individual or
individuals.

Send or transport any worker to any place where the farm labor contractor knows a strike
or lockout exists.

Do any act in the capacity of a farm labor contractor, or cause any act to be done, which
constitutes a crime involving moral turpitude under any law of the state of Washington.
[1985 ¢ 280 § 10; 1955 ¢ 392 § 12]

RCW 19.30.130 Rules--Adjustment of controversies.

(1)

(2)

The director shall adopt rules not inconsistent with this chapter for the purpose of enforcing
and administering this chapter.

The director shall investigate and attempt to adjust equitably controversies between farm
labor contractors and their workers with respect to claims arising under this chapter.
[1985 ¢ 280 § 11; 1955 ¢ 392 § 14.]

RCW 19.30.150 Penalties.

Any person who violates any provisions of this chapter, or who causes or induces another to violate
any provisions of this chapter, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than
five thousand dollars, or imprisonment in the county jail for not more than six months, or both.

[1955 ¢ 392 § 13.]

RCW 19.30.160 Civil penalty--Hearing--Court action.

(1)

(2)

3)

In addition to any criminal penalty imposed under RCW 19.30.150, the director may assess
against any person who violates this chapter, or any rule adopted under this chapter, a civil
penalty of not more than one thousand dollars for each violation.

The person shall be afforded the opportunity for a hearing, upon request to the director
made within thirty days after the date of issuance of the notice of assessment. The hearing
shall be conducted in accordance with chapter 34.05 RCW.

If any person fails to pay an assessment after it has become a final and unappealable order,
or after the court has entered final judgment in favor of the agency, the director shall refer
the matter to the state attorney general, who shall recover the amount assessed by action
in the appropriate superior court. In such action, the validity and appropriateness of the final
order imposing the penalty shall not be subject to review.
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RCW 19.30.160 cont.

(4)

Without regard to other remedies provided in this chapter, the department may bring suit
upon the surety bond filed by the farm labor contractor on behalf of a worker whose rights
under this chapter have been violated by the contractor. The action may be commenced in
any court of competent jurisdiction. In any such action, there shall be compliance with the

notice and service requirements set forth in RCW 19.30.170.
[1987 ¢ 216 § 4; 1986 ¢ 197 § 17; 1985 ¢ 280 § 15.]

RCW 19.30.170 Civil actions--Damages, costs, attorney's fees--Actions upon bond or security

deposit.

1)

)

3)

(4)

Q)

(6)

(7)

After filing a notice of a claim with the director, in addition to any other penalty
provided by law, any person aggrieved by a violation of this chapter or any rule adopted
under this chapter may bring suit in any court of competent jurisdiction of the county in
which the claim arose, or in which either the plaintiff or respondent resides, without
regard to the amount in controversy and without regard to exhaustion of any alternative
administrative remedies provided in this chapter. No such action may be commenced
later than three years after the date of the violation giving rise to the right of action. In
any such action the court may award to the prevailing party, in addition to costs and
disbursements, reasonable attorney fees at trial and appeal.

In any action under subsection (1) of this section, if the court finds that the respondent
has violated this chapter or any rule adopted under this chapter, it may award damages
up to and including an amount equal to the amount of actual damages, or statutory
damages of five hundred dollars per plaintiff per violation, whichever is greater, or
other equitable relief.

Without regard to other remedies provided in this chapter, a person having a claim
against the farm labor contractor for any violation of this chapter may bring suit against the
farm labor contractor and the surety bond or security deposit filed by the contractor
pursuant to RCW 19.30.040, in any court of competent jurisdiction of the county in
which the claim arose, or in which either the claimant or contractor resides.

An action upon the bond or security deposit shall be commenced by serving and filing
the summons and complaint within three years from the date” of expiration or
cancellation of the bond or expiration or cancellation of the license, whichever is
sooner, or in the case of a security deposit, within three years of the date of expiration or
revocation of the license.

A copy of the summons and complaint in any such action shall be served upon the
director at the time of commencement of the action and the director shall maintain a record,
available for public inspection, of all suits so commenced. Such service shall constitute
service on the farm labor contractor and the surety for suit upon the bond and the director
shall transmit the complaint or a cop%/ thereof to the contractor at the address listed in his
or her application and to the surety within forty-eight hours after it has been received.

The surety upon the bond may, upon notice to the director and the parties, tender to
the clerk of the court having jurisdiction of the action an amount equal to the
claims or the amount of the bond less the amount of judgments, if any
previously satisfied therefrom and to the extent of such tender the Suréty upon the borid
shall be eéxonerated.

If the actions commenced and pending at any one time exceed the amount of the
bond then unimpaired, the claims shall be satisfied from the bond in the following order:

@ Wages, including employee benefits;
(b) Other contractual damage owed to the employee;
(c) Any costs and attorneys' fees the claimant may be entitled to recover by contract or
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statute.

(8) If any final judgment impairs the bond so furnished so that there is not in effect a
bond undertaking in the full amount prescribed by the director, the director shall
suspend the license of the contractor until the bond liability in the required amount
unimpaired by unsatisfied judgment claims has been furnished. If such bond becomes
fully impaired, a new bond must be furnished.

(99 A claimant against a security deposit shall be entitled to damages under subsection
(2) of this section. If the farm labor contractor has filed other security with the
director in lieu of a surety bond, any person having an unsatisfied final judgment
against the contractor for any violation of this chapter may execute upon the security
deposit held by the director by serving a certified copy of the unsatisfied final
judgment by registered or certified mail upon the director. Upon the receipt of service
of such certified copy, the director shall pay or order paid from the deposit, through
the registry of the court which rendered judgment, towards the amount of the
unsatisfied judgment. The priority of payment by the director shall be the order of
receipt by the director, but the director shall have no liability for payment in excess of
the amount of the deposit.

[1987 c 216 §5; 1986 ¢ 197 § 18; 1985 ¢ 280 § 16.]

RCW 19.30.180 Injunctions— Costs — Attorney fee

The director or any other person may bring suit in any court of competent jurisdiction to enjoin any
person from using the services of an unlicensed farm labor contractor or to enjoin any person acting
as a farm labor contractor in violation of this chapter, or any rule adopted under this chapter, from
committing future violations. The court may award to the prevailing party costs and disbursement and

a reasonable attorney fee.
[1985 ¢ 280 § 12.]

RCW 19.30.190 Retaliation against employee prohibited

No farm labor contractor or agricultural employer may discharge or in any other manner discriminate
against any employee because:

@ The employee has made a claim against the farm labor contractor or agricultural employer
for compensation for the employee’s personal services.

2 The employee has caused to be instituted any proceedings under or related to RCW
19.30.180.

(€)) The employee has testified or is about to testify in any such proceedings.

4) The employee has discussed or consulted with anyone concerning the employee’s rights

under this chapter.
[1985 ¢ 280 § 13]

RCW 19.30.200 Unlicensed farm labor contractors — Liability for services

Any person who knowingly uses the services of an unlicensed farm labor contractor shall be
personally, jointly, and severally liable with the person acting as a farm labor contractor to the same
extent and in the same manner as provided in this chapter. In making determinations under this
section, any user may rely upon either the license issued by the director to the farm labor
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contractor under RCW 19.30.030 or the director's representation that such contractor is

licensed as required by this chapter.
[2000 ¢ 171 § 48; 1985 ¢ 280 § 14.]

RCW 19.30.900 Severability — 1955 ¢ 392

If any section, sentence, clause or word of this chapter shall be held unconstitutional, the invalidity of
such section, sentence, clause or word shall not affect the validity of any other portion of this chapter,
it being the intent of this legislative assembly to enact the remainder of this chapter notwithstanding

such part so declared unconstitutional should or may be so declared.
[1955 ¢ 392 § 17.]

RCW 19.30-901 Severability — 1985 ¢ 280

If any provision of this act or its application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, the
remainder of the act or the application of the provision to other persons or circumstances is not

affected.
[1985 ¢ 280 § 18]

RCW 19.30.902 Effective date — 1985 ¢ 280

This 1985 act shall take effect January 1, 1986,
[1985 ¢ 280 § 19]

12 of 13



Chapter 296-310 WAC

Farm Labor Contracting Rules

Last Updated: 12/11/1985

WAC 296-310-010 DEFINILIONS .....uvvieiiiieeeeeee et e e e e e st e e e e e e e e s st eeeaaeaeaasasssteseaeeaeeeesssssssannseeeaeeesaannnns 1
WAC 296-310-020 Application for initial and renewed lICENSES. ........covviiiiiii e e 1
WAC 296-310-030 DeNial Of ICENSE ... 2
WAC 296-310-040 Requirements for a license to transport EMplOYEEsS ..........oooiviiiiiiiiiiiiii 3
WAC 296-310-050 AMount Of DONA OF SECUNLY ......uueiiieee e e e e e e e e e e e eeaes 3
WAC 296-310-060 FEES ... .uieiiieeiei e ettt ettt e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e eaaaaeeaaaaeaeeaeeaaeaeaaeeaeaeaaaaaeaaees 4
WAC 296-310-070 DUPHCALE ICENSES ...uuuiiie ettt e e e e et e e e e e e e e e et e e e e e e e e e eatta e aaeeees 4
WAC 296-310-080 Length oOf ICENSE PEIIOA .......cooiiieeeeee e 5
WAC 296-310-090 Change in business structure, name, address, or number of employees.............ccceevvvvvnnnn. 5
WAC 296-310-100 Cancellation of iINSUrance or DON ............uuiiiiiiii e 5
WAC 296-310-110 Refund of security deposited with the department ..., 6
WAC 296-310-120 Revocation or SUSPENSION Of lICENSE .......ccooviiiiieieee e 6
WAC 296-310-130 Submission Of COMPIAINT.............oiiiiiiiiii e e e e e e e e e e e e 7
WAC 296-310-140 Investigation Of COMPIAINT ..........oooiiiiiiie e 7
WAC 296-310-150 NOLICE Of VIOIALION ... 7
WAC 296-310-160 APPEAI OF NOLCES ... .uuuii i e e e e e e e e e e et e e e e e e e aar e aeeaes 8
WAC 296-310-170 Hearing 0N appeal Of NOUICE........ccooiiiieeeeeeeee e 8
WAC 296-310-180 Effect of final dECISION. .......cooieiieeeeee e 10
WAC 296-310-190 Suit by department for unpaid Wages OF AaMAGES........cccoerriirirereeeeeeeeee e 10
WAC 296-310-200 Procedures for filing suit against @ CoONtractor............cccoiiieeiiiiiiiiiic e 10
WAC 296-310-210 COlIECtiON Of JUAGMENTS. ... 11
WAC 296-310-220 Priority for payment Of JUAGMENTS. ........ooiiiiiiii e e 11
WAC 296-310-230 CiVil PENAILIES ...t 12
WAC 296-310-240 AdjuStMeENt Of CONIOVEISIES ....vvuueiii et e e e et e e e e e e e raa s 12
WAC 296-310-250 FilING 8NU SEIVICE ... 13
WAC 296-310-260 Liability of person who uses services of unlicensed contractor ................cceeeeeeeeeereeevinnnnnnn. 13
WAC 296-310-270 INSPECLION Of TECONUS ... 13

1of14



WAC 296-310-010 Definitions

For the purposes of this chapter:

@ “Agricultural employee” means any person who renders personal services to, or under the
direction of, an agricultural employer in connection with the employer’s agricultural activity.

2 “Agricultural employer” means any person engaged in agricultural activity, including the
growing, producing, or harvesting of farm or nursery products, or engaged in the forestation
or reforestation of lands, which includes but is not limited to the planting, transplanting, tubing,
precommerical thinning, and thinning of trees and seedlings, the clearing, piling, and disposal
of brush and slash, the harvest of Christmas trees, and other related activities.

3 "Bonded contractor" means a contractor who obtained a surety bond in order to comply
with RCW 19.30.030(5).

4) "Contractor" means a farm labor contractor.

(5) “Department” means the Department of Labor and Industries.

(6) “Director” means the director of the Department of Labor and Industries.
) "Employee” means an agricultural employee.

(8) “Farm labor contractor” means any person, or his or her agent or subcontractor, who, for a
fee, performs any farm labor contracting activity.

9) “License” means a farm labor contractor license.

(10) *“Secured contractor” means a contractor who assigned a savings account to, or deposited
case of other security with, the department in order to comply with RCW 19.30.030 (5).

(11) “Security” means a saving account assigned to, or cash or other security deposited with, the
department.
[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130. 86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-010, filed 12/11/85.]

WAC 296-310-020 Application for initial and renewed licenses.
Q) To obtain a license, a contactor must:

@ Complete and application for a license;
(b) Provide the information requested by RCW 19.30.030 (1), (6), (7);

(c) Obtain a surety bond or provide other acceptable security to the department. If the
contractor obtains a bond, it must submit the original bond to the department.

(d) Obtain insurance and supply the information required by WAC 296-310-040 (2) if the
contractor seeks a license to transport workers; and

(e) Pay the fee set by WAC 296-310-060.
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WAC 296-310-020 Cont.

)

©)

(4)

()

The department shall send a renewal notice to the contractor’s last recorded address at
least forty-five days before the contractor’s license expires. The contractor may renew its
license if it submits the renewal notice and provides the materials required in the
subsection (1)(b), (c), (d) if appropriate, and (e) of this section.

The contractor must submit all materials to the department in one package. Each of the
materials must name the contractor exactly as it is named on the application for license or
the renewal notice. If the contractor is renewing its license, each of the materials must
include the contractor's license number. If any of the materials are missing, do not properly
name the contractor, or do not include the license number, the department shall refuse to
license or renew the license of the contractor.

The bond and the insurance policy must expire no sooner than the expiration date of the
license for which the contractor has applied.

Applications for issuance or renewal of a license must be sent to:

Department of Labor and Industries
ESAC Division

General Administration Building
Olympia WA 98504

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130. 86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-020, filed 12/11/85]

WAC 296-310-030 Denial of license

(1)

(2)

The department may refuse to issue or renew a license for the reasons listed in RCW
19.30.50 and 19.30.060. If the department refuses a license for any of these reasons, it
shall serve on the contractor a notice of denial of license. The notice of denial of license
shall:

@ Describe concisely the ground for denial of license; and

(b) Specify the statutory authority for the denial.
The notice of denial shall inform the contractor that is may request a hearing
pursuant to WAC 296-310-160 on the denial. The notice shall specify that if no
hearing is requested within thirty days of the date of issuance of the notice the
director shall issue a final, unappealable order denying the license.

The department also shall refuse to issue a license to or renew the license of the contractor
who fails to comply with WAC 296-130-020. The department shall inform the contractor of
the problem either in writing or, if appropriate, orally. Because compliance with WAC 296-
310-020 involves technical requirements that are entirely within the control of the contractor,
no hearing shall be granted on a failure to comply.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130.86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-030, filed 12/11/85.]
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WAC 296-310-040 Requirements for a license to transport employees

(1)

(2)

A contractor who intends to transport employees must obtain liability insurance. The
department shall require public liability and property damage insurance that provides
coverage, for each single occurrence and for each vehicle use to transport employees, in
the following minimum amounts:

(@) $50,000 for injury or damage to property;

(b) $100,000 for injury or damage, including death, to any one person, and

(c) $500,000 for injury or damage, including death, to more than one person.

The contractor must also provide to the department evidence of the insurance policy or
policies.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130.86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-040, filed 12/11/85.]

WAC 296-310-050 Amount of bond or security

(1)

(2)

3)

A contractor must provide a bond or security in the following minimum amounts:
€)) If the contractor employs or intends to employ:
I. From one to ten employees:  $5,000
il. From eleven to fifty employees: $10,000
iii. From fifty-one to one hundred employees:  $15,000
iv. Over one hundred employees:  $20,000
(b) If the contractor does not employ agricultural employees, but only recruits, solicits,
supplies, transports, or hires employees for another person, and that person takes
complete responsibility for payment of wages to the employees, the contractor shall

obtain a $50,000 bond or other security.

If the contractor obtains a two-year license, the bond or security shall be twice the minimum
amounts stated in subsection (1) of this section.

The department may order the contractor to obtain a bond or security for an amount greater
than the minimums set by subsections (1) and (2) of this section if the security of bond is
insufficient to satisfy the contractor’s potential liability for the license period. If the
department determines that an increased bond is necessary, it shall serve on the contractor
a notice to increase bond or security. The notice shall:

@ Describe concisely the reasons an increase in the bond or security is necessary;
(b) Specify the statutory authority for the required increased; and
(c) Grant the contractor thirty days from the date of issuance of the notice to obtain and

provide to the department the increased bond or security.
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WAC 296-310-050 Cont.

(4)

The notice shall inform the contractor that it may request a hearing pursuant to WAC 296-
310-160 on the order to increase the bond or security. The notice shall specify that if no
hearing is requested within thirty days of the date of issuance of the notice the director shall
issue a final, unappealable order requiring the contractor to submit the increased bond or
security. The notice shall also specify that, if the contractor neither appeals nor obtains the
increased bond or security within the thirty days, the department shall suspend the
contractor's license.

If the director issues a final, unappealed decision raising the amount of the bond or
security, the raised amount shall be required for all license periods after the date of
issuance of the final decision unless the decision specifically states otherwise. A contractor
may, if the circumstances that led to the increased amount change, file with the department
a written petition to lower the amount. The petition shall specify the grounds that justify a
lowering of the bond or security. The department shall investigate the petition and shall
issue a new notice stating its decision on the bond amount. The contractor, if aggrieved,
may appeal this new notice as provided in subsection (3) of this section.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130.86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-050, filed 12/11/85.]

WAC 296-310-060 Fees

(1)

(2)

The fee for a one-year license is:

@ For a contractor engaged in forestation or reforestation: $100.00
(b) For all other contractors: $35.00

The fee for a two-year license is:

@ For a contractor engaged in forestation or reforestation: $200.00
(b) For all other contractors: $70.00

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130. 86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-060, filed 12/11/85.]

WAC 296-310-070 Duplicate licenses

If a contractor loses its license, or if the license is stolen or destroyed, the contractor may obtain a
duplicate license upon application to the department. The application must specify the reason a
duplicate is necessary.

The duplicate license shall be stamped prominently with the word “duplicate.” A new contractor
license number shall be supplied to the contractor.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130. 86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-070, filed 12/11/85.]
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WAC 296-310-080 Length of license period

A contractor who is obtaining its initial license shall be licensed for only year only. A contractor who
is renewing its license may choose to obtain either a one-year or two-year license, unless the
department informs the contractor that is may obtain only a one-year license.

All one-year licenses shall expire on December 31 of the year of issuance. All two-year licenses
shall expire on December 31 of the year following the year of issuance.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130. 86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-080, filed 12/11/85.]

WAC 296-310-090 Change in business structure, name, address, or number of employees

(1)

(2)
3)

If a contractor changes its business structure (for example, if it changes from a partnership
to a corporation, or if the partners in a partnership change), the contractor must apply for
the a new license in the manner required by WAC 296-310-020. If a contractor does not
obtain a new license after a change in its business structure, its previous license may be
invalid.

If a contractor changes its name or address, it must notify the department within ten days.

If a contractor begins employing agricultural employees, or increases the number of its
employees, so that the bond or security is insufficient for that number of employees, the
contractor must obtain a new bond or security in the amount required by WAC 296-310-050
and submit it to the department.

The department need not issue a notice to increase the amount of bond or security in this
situation.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130. 86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-090, filed 12/11/85.]

WAC 296-310-100 Cancellation of insurance or bond

(1)

(2)

No surety company may cancel any bond issued to a contractor pursuant to RCW
19.30.040, unless the contractor previously submits another bond or other security, for the
same amount, that covers the contractor’s liability for the same period as that for the bond
that is to be cancelled.

A cancellation of a surety bond or insurance policy is effective thirty days after the
department receives the cancellation notice, if the cancellation notice contains the following
information:

@ The name of the contractor, exactly as it appears on the contractor’s license;

(b) The contractor’s license number;

(c) The contractor’s business address;

(d) The number of the bond or insurance policy that is to be cancelled;

(e) The effective date of the bond or insurance policy that is be cancelled; and
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WAC 296-310-100 Cont.

® If the cancellation is of a surety bond, a certification that the contractor has
previously obtained and submitted to the department a new bond or other security
as required by subsection (1) of this section.

3) To help the department process cancellations, the information in subsection (2) of this
section should be provided in the order shown.

(4)  Theinsurance and bonding companies should send cancellation notices to the department
by certified or registered mail.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130. 86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-100, filed 12/11/85.]

WAC 296-310-110 Refund of security deposited with the department

(2) If a contractor is secured, the department shall release its interest in the security three
years after the contractor’s last license expired. The department shall not release its
interest, however, if an unsatisfied judgment or claim is outstanding against the contractor.

(2) The department shall in any case release its interest in the security if the contractor
provides a surety bond in the same amount that covers all of the periods in which the
contractor was licensed for the previous three years, plus for the contractor’s current
license period if applicable.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130. 86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-110, filed 12/11/85.]

WAC 296-310-120 Revocation or suspension of license

(2) The department may revoke a contractor’s license for the reasons listed in RCW
19.30.050 (1) and 19.30.060. If the department revokes a license, it shall serve on the
contractor a notice of revocation. The notice of revocation shall:

@ Describe concisely the ground for the revocation; and

(b) Specify the statutory authority for the revocation. The notice of revocation shall
inform the contractor that it may request a hearing on the revocation. The notice
shall specify that if no hearing is requested within thirty days after the date of
issuance of the notice, the director shall issue a final, unappealable order revoking
the contractor’s license.

The hearing may be requested pursuant to WAC 296-310-160.

(2) A contractor is entitled to retain its license only if it remains in compliance with the bonding
and insurance requirements of RCW 19.30.030 and 19.30.040. If a contractor’s surety
bond or other security is impaired or becomes insufficient, the contractor’'s insurance
policy is cancelled, or the contractor transports employees without insurance, the
department shall suspend the contractor’s license until the contractor obtains a new bond,
other security, or insurance policy, eliminates the impairment to the bond or security, or
ceases to transport workers. The contractor may not do business while its license is
suspended.
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WAC 296-310-120 Cont.

The department shall inform the contractor in writing of the suspension and of the steps
the contractor must take to remove the suspension. The contractor may not appeal a
suspension of licensing.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130. 86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-120, filed 12/11/85.]

WAC 296-310-130 Submission of complaint
Any person may submit to the department a complaint alleging a violation of chapter 19.30 RCW or

challenging an application for a license. The complaint must describe the alleged violation or ground
for denying a license, and must identify the alleged violator or applicant. It would aid the department's
investigation if the complaint also specifies:

(1) The name and address of the complainant; and

(2)  The address of the alleged violator or applicant.
[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130. 86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-130, filed 12/11/85.]

WAC 296-310-140 Investigation of complaint

The department shall investigate a complaint unless the complaint was submitted more than three
years after the date of the alleged violation. The department shall not investigate any complaint filed
more than three years after the date of the violation.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130. 86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-140, filed 12/11/85.]

WAC 296-310-150 Notice of violation
(1) If the department determines that there is reasonable cause to believe that chapter 19.30

RCW has been violated, the department shall serve on the violator a notice of violation.
The notice of violation shall:

@ Describe concisely the violations;

(b) Specify which statute was violated;

(c) If known, identify the employees who were affected by the violation;

(d) If known and applicable, state the amount of unpaid wages or damages the violator
owes;

(e State the penalty, if any, the department will assess for the violations;

® State whether the contractor’s license is being revoked as a result of the violation.
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WAC 296-310-150 Cont.

(2)

®3)

If the notice alleges that the contractor owes unpaid wages or damages, the department
shall serve a copy of the notice of violation of the violator’s surety bond company.

The notice of violation shall inform the violator and, if applicable, its surety that they may
request a hearing on violation, the amount of unpaid wages or damaged owed, or the
penalty assessed. The notice shall specify that if no hearing is requested within thirty days
after the date the notice was issued the director shall issue a final, unappealable order
finding that the violation did occur, ordering the violator to pay any unpaid wages or
damages, and assessing penalties.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130. 86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-150, filed 12/11/85.]

WAC 296-310-160 Appeal of notices

1)

)

The contractor or violator, or the violator’s surety if the surety has an interest in the matter,
may request a hearing on the matter asserted in a notice of denial of license, a notice of
violation. One original and four copies of the request must be filled with the director within
thirty days after the date the department issued the notice. A party requesting a hearing on
the notice of violation must also serve a copy of the request on the surety or the violator as
appropriate.

The request for hearing must be in writing and must specify:

(@ The name and address of the party requesting the hearing;

(b) The name and date of issuance of the notice that is being appealed;

(c) The matters contained in the notice that the requestor believes are erroneous;

(d) The reasons the notice is erroneous; and

(e) If asurety is appealing a notice of violation, the name and address of violation
contactor.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130. 86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-160, filed 12/11/85.]

WAC 296-310-170 Hearing on appeal of notice

(1)

(2)

The director may hear an appeal personally or may delegate the authority to hold the
hearing and draft a proposed decision to an administrative law judge pursuant to chapter
34.12 RCW. The plaintiff at the hearing shall be the department and the defendants shall
be the contractor or the violator and its surety. The department shall have the burden of
proving, by preponderance of the evidence, that the matters stated in the notice occurred.

Any person who has standing may, upon motion, be allowed to intervene as a plaintiff in a

hearing on a notice of violation. Any interested person, whether or not admitted as a
plaintiff, may submit written arguments and affidavits in any hearing.
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WAC 296-310-170 Cont.

3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

(7)

(8)

The hearing shall be conducted in accordance with the uniform procedure rules, chapter
1 - 08 WAC.

If the director presides over the hearing, the director shall issue a final decision that
includes finding of fact and conclusions of law and, if appropriate for a violation, an order to
pay unpaid wages, damages, or a penalty.

If an administrative law judge presides over the hearing, she or he shall issue a proposed
decision that includes findings of fact and conclusions of law and, if appropriate for a
violation, an order to pay unpaid wages, damages, or a penalty. The proposed decision
shall be served on the contractor or the violator and its surety, the department, an any
persons who have intervened as plaintiffs. Any of these parties, if aggrieved by the
proposed decision, may appeal to the director within thirty days after the date of issuance
of the proposed decision. If none of the parties appeals within thirty days, the proposed
decision may not be appealed either to the director or the courts. A copy of the proposed
decision shall also be mailed to all persons who submitted written arguments or affidavits at
the hearing.

An appellant must file with the director an original and four copies of its notice of appeal.
The notice of appeal must specify which findings and conclusions are erroneous.

The appellant must attach to the notice the written arguments supporting its appeal.

The appellant must serve a copy of the notice of appeal and the arguments on the other
parties. The respondent parties must file with the director their written arguments within
thirty days after the date the notice of appeal and the arguments were served upon them.

The director shall review the proposed decision in accordance with the Administrative
Procedure Act, chapter 34.04 RCW. The director may: Require the parties to specify the
portions of the record on which the parties rely; require the parties to submit additional
information by affidavit or certificate; remand the matter to the administrative law judge for
further proceedings; and require a department employee to prepare a summary of the
record for the department to review. The director may allow the parties to present oral
arguments as well as the written arguments. The director shall issue a final decision that
can affirm, modify, or reverse the proposed decision.

The director shall serve the final decision on all parties. Any aggrieved party may appeal
the final decision to superior court pursuant to RCW 34.04.130 unless the final decision
affirms an unappealed proposed decision. If no party appeals within the period set by RCW
34.04.130, the director's decision is conclusive and binding on all parties. The director shall
also mail a copy of the final decision to all persons who submitted written arguments or
affidavits at the hearing.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130. 86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-170, filed 12/11/85.]
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WAC 296-310-180 Effect of final decision

If the director issues a final decision that includes a finding that a violator owes unpaid wages or
damages, and the finding is not appealed or is affirmed by the courts, the finding and the decision are
res judicata in any action by the department, or by any other person who was a plaintiff at the hearing,
against the violator and its surety to recover the unpaid wages or damages. The finding and decision
are not res judicata in any action by a person who was not a party at the hearing.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130. 86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-180, filed 12/11/85.]

WAC 296-310-190 Suit by department for unpaid wages or damages

(1)

(2)

3)

RCW 19.30.160 (4) authorizes the department to sue a violator and its surety on behalf of
an employee to recover unpaid wages and other damages. The department is not required
to bring suit and, in its sole discretion, may decide not to do so in any case. The
department also shall not sue on behalf of any employee who has already brought a suit
against the violator and its surety in the matter.

The department may file a suit against the violator and its surety at any time without regard
to whether administrative proceedings have been exhausted.

The department may include in any suit a request for an injunction against the violator.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130. 86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-190, filed 12/11/85.]

WAC 296-310-200 Procedures for filing suit against a contractor

(1)

(2)

®3)

A suit against a contractor and its bond or security for unpaid wages or damages may be
brought in any court with jurisdiction. The venue may be in the county in which the claim
arose, or in which either the damaged person or the defendant resides.

When a contractor is sued, the plaintiff must serve the summons and complaint on the
contractor and its surety by serving three copies of the summons and complaint by certified
or registered mail on the department. The department shall not accept personal service of
the summons and complaint.

The department may be unable to process a summons and complaint if the summons and
complaint do not contain the following information:

@ The contractor's name exactly as it appears on the contractor’s license;
(b) The contractor’s business address;
(c) The names of the owners, partners, or officers of the contactor; and

(d) The contractor’s license number. If the suit names a surety as a defendant, the
summons and complaint should also include:

(e The name and address of the surety that issued the contractor’s bond;

0] The bond number; and
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WAC 296-310-200 Cont.
(9) The effective date of the bond.

If the information is insufficient for the department to identify the contractor or surety that is
being sued, the department shall not attempt to serve the summons and complaint and
shall return the them to the plaintiff.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130. 86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-200, filed 12/11/85.]

WAC 296-310-210 Collection of judgments.

(1) If a contractor is secured, a plaintiff who has received a final judgment against a contractor
may satisfy the judgment out of the security held by the department.

(2)  The department shall satisfy a final judgment if the plaintiff serves on the department three
certified copies of the unsatisfied judgment. The plaintiff must include the following
information with the copies of the judgment:

@ The name of the contractor, exactly as it appears on the contractor’s license;
(b) The contractor’s business address;

() The names of the owners, partners, or officers of the contractor;

(d) The contractor’s license number; and

(e The exact amount of the judgment awarded by the court, including attorney’s fee
and interest.

If the department does not receive sufficient information to enable it to pay the judgment, it
shall inform the plaintiff that more information is needed.

(3) If a contractor is bonded, a plaintiff can satisfy a final judgment only against the contractor
or the bonding company. The department can neither satisfy the judgment nor, unless the
department itself is the plaintiff, force the contractor or the bonding company to pay the
judgment. The plaintiff must join the bonding company in the suit if it want the bonding
company to pay the judgment.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130. 86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-210, filed 12/11/85.]

WAC 296-310-220 Priority for payment of judgments.

RCW 19.30.170 contains two different provisions for priority in paying judgments from the contractor’s
bond or security.

(2) If a contractor is secured, the department shall satisfy final judgment against the contractor
in the order of the department receives the judgment.
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WAC 296-310-220 Cont.

(2) If a contractor is bonded, claims for unpaid wages and benefits are satisfied first, claims for
damages are satisfied second, and claims for costs and attorney’s fees are satisfied last.
No claim in a lesser category may be satisfied until all pending claims in the preceding
categories are satisfied, unless the total amount of all pending claims in the preceding
categories is less than the amount of the bond that remains unimpaired.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130. 86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-220, filed 12/11/85.]

WAC 296-310-230 Civil penalties

(1) In determining the amount of any civil penalty to be imposed under RCW 19.30.160 the
department shall consider the following factors:

@) Previous violations by the violators;

(b) The history of the violator in taking all necessary measures to prevent or correct
violations;

(© The magnitude and seriousness of the violations;

(d) The remedial of purpose of chapter 19.30 RCW;
(e) Any mitigating circumstances; and
)] Any other factors the department considers relevant.
(2) It is the violator’s responsibility to inform the department of mitigating evidence.

3) The penalties for acting as a contractor without a license, or for the transporting employees
without an endorsement to do so, are:

@) Up to $500 for the first violation;
(b) Up to $750 for the second violation; and

(c) Up to $1000 for the third and any further violations.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130. 86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-230, filed 12/11/85.]

WAC 296-310-240 Adjustment of controversies

(1) Upon receipt of a complaint or on its own motion, the department shall attempt to adjust
equitably a controversy between a contractor and its employees.

(2) No particular form of proceeding is necessary for resolving disputes. The supervisor of
employment standards shall, in each case, use his or her best judgment in designing a
procedure. However, in every case in which the supervisor determines that a hearing
should be held, the supervisor shall notify the affected persons, or their representatives, of
the time, date, place, and purpose of the hearing.
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WAC 296-310-240 Cont.

3) A hearing shall be informal and shall not be subject to chapter 34.04 RCW. The
supervisor’s suggestions for the resolution are advisory and not binding, and may not
appealed to any person or court.

(4) The director may delegate the resolution of any particular case to a person other than the
supervisor of employment standards. That person shall have the same authority as the
supervisor to determine the form of the proceeding.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130. 86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-240, filed 12/11/85.]

WAC 296-310-250 Filing and service

All papers required to be filed with the director under the chapter or chapter 19.30 RCW shall be
addressed to Director, Department of Labor and Industries, General Administration Building, Olympia
WA 98504.

Filing and service may be made as provided in WAC 1-08-090 through 1-08-140.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130. 86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-250, filed 12/11/85.]

WAC 296-310-260 Liability of person who uses services of unlicensed contractor

(1) A person who knowingly uses the services of an unlicensed contractor is liable for unpaid
wages, damagers, and civil and criminal penalties to the same extent as the unlicensed
contractor.

(2) Pursuant to RCW 19.30.200, a person may prove lack of knowledge by proving that she or
he relied on a license issued by the department under chapter 19.30 RCW, or upon the
department’s representation that the contractor was licensed. The department shall not
make oral representations that a contractor is or is not licensed. All representations by the
department that a contractor is licensed shall be made in writing and shall be signed by the
director. The department shall not accept reliance on a supposed oral representation as
proof in any administrative enforcement proceeding.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130. 86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-260, filed 12/11/85.]

WAC 296-310-270 Inspection of records

A contractor or any person using a contractor’s services shall allow a representative of the
department to inspect at any reasonable time the records it is required to keep by chapter 19.30 RCW.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 19.30.130. 86-01-027 (Order 85-34), § 296-310-270, filed 12/11/85.]
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